Finneyerkes – Gather and Sing (self released) 2009

Ahhhhh! Crappily small artwork alert!

One of the bonuses about writing stuff about records is that  people indeed send me their records to listen to. I get sent a fair bit so it takes me some time to sift through the stuff that doesn’t work for me to get to the truly great records. After all this is a blog about the records I like. My standards for what I post on at Ducks Battle Satan are high. So in that spirit, over the next couple of weeks I’ll post on those records you probably have never heard off but which I think you probably need to hear. First up is one I’ve had for a while: Gather and Sing.

Finneyerkes are a a duo of Matt Finney (a 21 year old poet from Alabama) and the  ambient musician Randy Yerkes. Their sound is spoken word, haunting, end of the world ambient soundscapes and media samples. It is a deeply emotional record, one that I doubt I’ll be able to do justice to on this site. I love this sort of sound and the way in which  the spoken word elements are added  makes it seem like transmissions from the past. It’s post apocalyptic hauntology, sadly beautiful and worthy of your time. Gather and Sing and some of their other records are free for download from here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: